Time To Stop Surrendering Our Lives To Social Media (Again)

Russ Linton
5 min readSep 30, 2022

I was a late-comer to the social media scene. The technology really blossomed when I was working for the FBI. Having a social media presence then wasn’t the best of ideas.

I gave in after I left for the private sector. Mostly because I wanted to explore self-employment and promotion is a key part of that. I ran a PI agency, got back into graphic design, and finally settled on writing as my gig for life.

As an author, “developing a platform” has been all the rage for, well, ever. Social media is presumably the key to that.

But it comes with a huge cost.

Privacy for one. My most recent incident involves Facebook serving up half a dozen ads centered specifically around a conversation I had on the phone.

Now, I’m aware many believe the idea that Facebook is “listening” is straight-up tinfoil hat nuttery. But let’s not gloss over the fact that the technology is there. Alexa has a full-time job eavesdropping and anticipating needs.

As a rational person, I’ve dismissed numerous instances in the past of Facebook serving up an ad not long after I had a conversation about an item. Coincidence, I said.

But they do collect a disturbing amount of data about their users. And their algorithms are simply…

--

--

Russ Linton

Nomad, science fiction author, former cryptocurrency miner, trailblazer. Find out more at https://www.russlinton.com